top of page

Free hot meals in 30 more Carlow-Kilkenny Schools

Children in 20 more schools in Kilkenny and 10 more schools in Carlow are set to receive free meals as part of the expansion of the Hot School Meals programme to an further 900 primary schools in the country.

The Hot School Meals Programme was introduced in 2019 as a small pilot of 30 schools and has now grown to 2,000 schools including all DEIS schools. Research shows that this scheme has huge benefits for the wellbeing of children in schools. It will also improve school attendance and make parents' lives easier.

It's the intention of this government to roll out this scheme to all primary schools in the country by 2025. All remaining primary schools in the area can now submit an application to the Department of Social Protection to start receiving free meals.

The following schools have been added to the scheme this week:


Borris National School

Newtown Dunleckney

Scoil Naisiunta Mhuire

Scoil Naisiunta Peadar Agus Pol

Scoil Naisiunta Mhichil

St Brendans National School

Bennekerry National School

Our Lady's National School

Scoil Naisiunta Cill Damhain

St Patrick's National School


St Michaels National School

The Rower Mixed National School

Carigeen National School

Skeaghvastheen National School

Bennettsbridge National School

Scoil Naisiunta Naomh Padraigh

Scoil Naisiunta Bhrighde

Scoil Naisiunta Colmain

Kilkenny Mixed National School

Scoil Naisiunta Baile An Phiull

Scoil Naisiunta Moin Ruadh Mixed

Burnchurch National School

Scoil Iognaid De Ris

Scoil Naisiunta Muire

Scoil Bhride Paulstown

Scoil Naomh Ioseph

Templeorum National School

Scoil Mhuire

St Mary's National School

Kilkenny School Project


bottom of page